Burglary is a crime that is committed when a person unlawfully enters a dwelling or property with the intent to commit a crime. One does not actually have to commit the crime to be charged with burglary. As long as you just set foot onto the premises with the intention of committing a crime, you may be charged with burglary. If you have been accused of burglary or any other related theft crimes offense please contact The Musil Law Firm today.
Florida Burglary Charges and Penalties
In Florida, there are different types of burglary offenses that can be charged. The first type is a burglary that involves an assault and battery on someone that was in or on the property where the crime took place. If you are convicted of a burglary involving assault and battery, you will be charged with a 1st degree felony. This can result in a sentence of 30 years to life in prison. The second type of burglary offense is 2nd degree burglary and is the most common type of burglary committed. It involves breaking into a residence with the intent of carrying out a crime. Second degree burglary is punishable by up to 15 years in prison. The final and third type of burglary offense is auto burglary, also known as auto theft. This is a third degree burglary and you may face up to 5 years in a state prison if convicted.
Defend your rights! If you, or your loved one, have been accused of Burglary, please contact The Musil Law Firm for your free consultation by calling Toll Free – 1-877-70-MUSIL ( 1-877-706-8745).
The Musil Law Firm, with attorney offices in Naples and Cocoa, proudly serves all of Florida, including: Brevard, Osceola, Orange, Collier, Lee and Charlotte Counties, as well as cities of Cocoa, Melbourne, Rockledge, Titusville, Viera, Cape Canaveral, Orlando, Altamonte Springs, Fort Myers, Naples and more!